Goodbye, NashvilleZine

Dear Friends,

For the past two years, I’ve published as an independent media outlet covering what I think is the best music in town. I’ve actually been publishing websites that cover local music since 1999. While it hasn’t always been fun, it has always been educational. What I’ve learned about media, readers, programming, music and the web has been more than I could have learned in school.

Unfortunately, that education had a high price. I’ve heavily invested myself financially and personally in my publications. While I was always happy to do it, I’ve recently realized that I need to spend my energy elsewhere.

So I’ve come to the somewhat sad decision that it’s time to close down NashvilleZine.

Like anyone who creates something personally important, I’d hate to compromise my original vision for the site in order to keep it running. Such compromise is what I encounter whenever I consider options for keeping the site alive. I’ve thought a great deal about ways to revitalize my interest in the site, but no matter what ideas I have, it doesn’t change the fact that my passion for the site has gone.

I’ve always been a writer. And at this point in my life, I want and I need to focus on what’s important to me: my novels. I am about to publish my second novel and I need to spend my time promoting it. Also, I’ll be writing my third novel soon and continuing my search for the ever-elusive book deal. This will leave me with very little time for other projects.

Over two years, we’ve had many fine contributors all of whom were personally involved in the music scene–whether creating music themselves or promoting it via shows they booked, labels they ran, or just their immense fandom. I want to thank them all personally for giving their time and effort freely to NashvilleZine. Without their efforts and your readership, the Zine would never have been as successful as it was.

Thank you to:
Ryan Ervin
Ben Wilkinson
Chris Spoltore

Stephanie Filippini
Andy Schenck
Jeremy Ferguson
Jessica Yung
Aaron Robinson
Rebecca McKnight
Jay Phillips
Mike Shepherd

Janet Timmons
Michael Eades
Jon Bates
Michael Davis
Sam Smith
Caldwell Dunlap
Erin Mobley

I hope you’ll support their other projects as well as my own.

Finally, thank you, readers, who’ve made this site the wonderfully active hub of information, controversy, and fun it’s been for the past two years.

If you’d like to drop me a line, please send an email to todd at todd-a dot com.

Best of luck to you all.

Todd Anderson